%device% is different than I had hoped

Poor title but %device% refers to the trigger device rather than the acted upon device. Is there a way to refer to one or of the devices acted upon as in the following:

In this case %device% returns "trigger" which is what the RM indicates it should. I was hoping it would refer to the contact sensors. Is there any other way to have a variable that would refer to the indiidual contacts.

I'm still a HE newbie and read through here for ideas how to make rules more efficient to input. For each .or. condition in your .if. statement you could have an elseif that sets a local var. But of course this would take a lot longer to input the rule than what you presently have, which is more compact. I often find I spend more time trying to find a way to accomplish such things efficiently (as you are apparently seeking to do here) than it ever takes to actually input the form I finally decide on.

If there were a way to input text-based rules which allow copy/paste, inputting such rules would be much faster and I often lament there is no text-based method to input rules. But I have learned to appreciate that the system /does/ work well once you bother to write out all the rules however necessary to execute as desired. At least you can count on it working correctly once you bother to click through making all the rules :slight_smile:

Thanks, I had just resigned myself to setting a variable for each. Oh well.

Yep the GUI inefficiency is currently what is preventing me from having much more interesting rules set up. I have 22 motion sensors and around 50 switches around the house just waiting to do something next-level with. I can't wait for a better interface to show up one day, but in current form it takes me 20 minutes just to click through a single rule or 60 mins if I have to edit a few times, which is outside the bounds of fully automating a house as far as I can tell.