Dashboard Automomation

I'm new to Hubitat coming from Actiontiles and want something not cloud based as awesome as Actiontiles is. What I'm having issues with is how to get Buttons/Switches to work.

I've been Googling and watching videos/reading posts for a couple of days now and can't seem to find the answer to my question.

What I am trying to accomplish is, I have a door sensor (paired with Hubitat already) and I want it to have a closed (iocn) and green tile when it is closed, and a open (icon) and red tile when it is open. I've seen people have this function on videos yet nobody is explaining how it's done.

Please spell it out to me as if I have a milk bottle in my mouth, and a fresh pair of Pampers on. I have a strong feeling once I get this figured I can do everything else I want done.

Thank you much.

With the Dashboard open, click on the cog (gear) icon on the top right.

From the menu that pops-up, click on “Templates”, then on the left, choose “Door Status”, and then you can set the options for both “open” and “closed”.

Does that help you do what you need?

Also, welcome to the community?

2 Likes

Thank you for the quick response, and oddly enough I found this and set this up so I guess my question actually has two parts. I am unable to make it so when my door sensor is in these states to make it actually show on my dashboard real time.

When I open the door, nothing happens to the icon of the door on my dashboard, I'm guessing I'm missing a connection of some sort I just can't figure out what that is.

Thank you again.

Is your device selected in the dashboard app (when you set up a new dashboard)?

Can you attach a screenshot showing part of your dashboard with the door sensor in it?

OK so I've tried different settings with this, with the Door Icon selected Without, Door Sensor, and Door (Control), all with the Template settings set while having the Door Sensor set on the left panel.

Thank you for your help.