[Code Review?] Tailwind Garage Door

First post and first ever driver. I would love it if any of you would be willing to take a look at my driver and tell me what I'm doing horribly wrong. I'm not a developer and any comments on what I'm doing here would be fantastic. Thanks!

https://github.com/kaimyn/Tailwind_Hubitat

3 Likes

I was literally working on the same project last night, I think mines a bit cruder though. First time writing a hubitat driver too.
Gelix/HubitatTailwind (github.com)

Nice! I liked the idea of using the GarageDoorControl capability so that Hubitat would recognize the device as a garage door which led me down the entire child device path.

I didn't realize that you could poll from directly in the driver.. that might be nice, although polling once a minute seems like it would only be useful if it's left open and not as a trigger. I have my RM set to poll every 2 seconds right now. Any idea if that's going to destroy my Hubitat?

I'm definitely no expert on the hubitats either, it might be a bad practice to do what I'm doing. As for polling via 2s rule. You could use the runtime stats to compare to other devices/apps to see how that stacks up though? My gut instinct is it's a little too frequent, if not just for the tailwind controller. The 1 minute I have on mine is a bit too slow, so probably something around 5 - 10s?

I don't have this device and can't test the driver. But from just poking around the code, I can comment on a few things if your curious to see what someone else thinks:

attribute "Door 1 Status", "text"