Beginner not sure which hub to use

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the whole home automation scene but am quite tech savvy in figuring how things work (I have a background in electronics engineering).

I recently purchased a ST V3 hub and some ST universal sensors and outlet (boxing day sale :smile: ). I thought it was a good choice to start from but after researching more on home automation and cloud based systems I'm not quite sure. Then I found about Hubitat and am rethinking things.

The one big benefit from my research is that Hubitat runs local but what I would like to know is:

1. Can you access devices remotely like you can with ST on Hubitat? (i.e. I forgot to set a timer for a light or turn something off or check the status of a device)
  2. How would you do a firmware update for ST devices or any other brand of device?
  3. I've seen that there's a mobile app but reviews on it have not been good. Is there a way to get notifications on a mobile device (phone/tablet) when a device gets triggered (i.e. door sensor)?
  4. Just want to confirm that when there's no internet connection scenes/routines can still be executed (i.e. I come home and Hubitat recognizes that and turns on lights)?
  5. If I put the Hubitat and modem/router on a UPS and power goes down will the system still work with battery powered devices/sensors (i.e. ST universal sensor)?

Sorry for the lengthy questions but I want to make the right decision before jumping all in :slight_smile:

tia

Yes

You can’t currently do firmware updates on HE

Some people seem to have problems with it.. For me the app works perfectly..

Correct .. Everything is local except for cloud based devices...

Absolutely.. As long as those devices are in range of the hub.. As in not requiring a powered off repeater..

2 Likes

The (iOS) app works fine for me too... except for presence sensing.