Amazon Echo Skill RGBW lighting device bug?

Hello I'm new to Hubitat (not home automation however).

Anyways for the life of me after some of my own troubleshooting I have been unable to figure out whats going on with the Alexa Echo Skill. In fact, Trying to keep it simple, I have gone so far as to factory reset my hub, delete devices from within Alexa, and remove the Hubitat Skill in the Alexa App from my phone, and unplugging other Zigbee devices in the house.

So now I have a very basic install with only two Sengled RGBW Zigbee bulbs utilizing the built in Hubitat Sengled drivers. They are named Top Bulb and Bottom Bulb. Its in a two bulb lamp about 5 feet from the hub (again no other Zigbee devices).

I have noticed changing between Colors(RGB) and Shades of White(CT) modes on any bulb doesn't seem to work correctly in Alexa. Doing so results in a timeout with the response "Device is unresponsive". It also introduces about 5 seconds of lag time.
ex:

What interesting is the device itself will change over. But Alexa will still show it as being the last preset/color after the timeout or no preset/color at all.

for example going back to the device page in the Alexa app results in:

Anyone else experiencing this? or have any other ideas? I've noticed the Hubitat skill in Alexa seems kind of laggy in general(compared to others).

Unfortunately if I cant resolve this I will be returning the HE. I haven't seen this issue on ST, Wink, or Sengled's own hub.

I don't know if this would help you any but try creating a group and using that for Alexa. I have 8 recessed color+ and 2 color+ standard bulbs in a group called "Den Lights" (zigbee messaging on) and am able to control the color changes.

Note: I don't really like telling Alexa about all my devices. I give enough info to Amazon as it is..

2 Likes